Euro 1992 - Sweden

Euro 1992 - Sweden

Hosts: Sweden

Final: Denmark 2 West Germany 0

Top Scorer: Henrik Larsen (Denmark), Karlheinz Riedle (West Germany), Dennis Bergkamp (The Netherlands), Tomas Brolin (Sweden) 3 goals each
Teams/Matches: 8/15
Facts and Figures:

* Sweden was chosen in preference to Spain to host Euro 1992. Spain had already been chosen to host the 1992 Summer Olympic Games.

* The USSR qualified for the finals shortly before the break-up of the country and competed under the banner of the Commonwealth of Independent States.

* Yugoslavia qualified for the final stages of Euro 1992 but, due to the Yugoslav wars, the team was disqualified and their group's runner-up, Denmark, took their place.

* 32 goals were scored at Euro 1992 at an average of 2.13 per match.

* Euro 1992 was the first major football competition in which the players had their names printed on the back of their shirts.

* The fastest goal of Euro 1992 was scored after 1 minute 37 seconds, by Frank Rijkaard (Netherlands v Germany).


In Euro 1992 Denmark achieved one of the biggest shocks in Euro Championship history. They only achieved qualification by default when Yugoslavia was disqualified and a 0-0 draw with England was followed by a 1-0 defeat against Sweden. They appeared to be heading out of the tournament until Lars Elstrup produced a 78th minute winner against France which put them second in Group A.

Germany also qualified as runner-up in their group, having been well beaten by the Netherlands. They overcame a spirited Sweden by three goals to two in the semi-final to book their place in the final of Euro 1992.

The Dutch were hot favourites to beat Denmark in the semi-final but their confidence received a jolt when Larsen converted Laudrup’s cross to put the Danes in front. The Netherlands pulled level through Bergkamp but Denmark edged ahead within ten minutes when Larsen fired home from the edge of the box. The Dutch forced the game into extra-time when Rijkaard scored with just four minutes remaining. The Danes held out to force the game to go to penalties and sensationally reached the final of Euro 1992 when Marco van Basten’s kick was saved by Peter Schmeichel.

Schmeichel was under siege in the early stages of the final and made excellent saves from Karl-Heinz Riedle, Stefan Reuter and Guido Buchwald. The Danes then stunned the Germans when John Jensen smashed home a clever back-heel from Flemming Povlsen. They repeatedly thwarted the German attack and sealed the game when Vilfort beat Bodo Illgner to make it 2-0 with ten minutes remaining. The big outsiders, Denmark, were crowned Euro 1992 winners against all the odds.

More History Articles